Blair Highlights Women's Track & Field All-GMAC

Blair Highlights Women's Track & Field All-GMAC

G-MAC Release

INDIANAPOLIS - The Great Midwest Athletic Conference has announced the 2019 Indoor Track & Field All-Conference teams, and Tiffin women's track & field has 13 award recipients, including Miaisha Blair as Women's Field Athlete of the Year and Jeremy Croy as Women's Coach of the Year.

With honors based off of each athlete's top-three finish at the G-MAC Indoor Championships, the Dragons had eight members named to the First Team, one to the Second Team, and three to the third team.

Blair won the conference triple jump title with a G-MAC record mark of 11.65m and followed that up with a fourth-place finish in the long jump at 5.42m.

Nicole Berry earned First Team honors after winning the shot put and qualifying for Nationals with a throw of 15.18m. Marisa Gwinner also received a First Team accolade and qualified for Nationals, taking the high jump title with a G-MAC record height of 1.75m in her freshman season, and eventually finishing third at the National Championships for All-American status. 

Other Dragons to win their events and earn First Team recognition are as follows: Kirsten Camp (pentathlon, 3459 points), Shalbe Evans (long jump, 5.61m), Emma Gielink (60m Hurdles, 8.93), Madeline Hayes (pole vault, 3.69m), and Brittany Holbrook (200m, 25.13).

Second Team honors went to Jazilee Williams for finishing second in the pentathlon (3446 points), while Rajiah Andrews (60m Hurdles, 8.97; 60m, 7.75; long jump, 5.50m; triple jump, 11.35m), Mercedeez Francis (high jump, 1.63m), and Alexya Peoples (400m, 58.14) rounded out the Tiffin awards with third-place and Third Team accolades.